I think I wrote this for a blog series years ago, can’t remember if I published it or not. At the time it felt really scary to write, being very blunt about something as abstract as purpose when people have stuff to do and ‘real jobs’ and all the rest. A lack of confidence about sharing my thoughts and ideas has often got in the way for me, stopping me from exploring ideas and thinking for fear of...I don't know what. This little spate of sharing old notes is in part to work on that, to start to put stuff out without worrying. Anyway let's get to work right now.



I've said it before and I'll say it again, sometimes you need to "feed your soul". This isn't a glib remark, I'm not saying it flippantly, I mean it, and I mean all the stuff that is underneath it too, all the spiritual stuff, the finding yourself, knowing what your purpose is, what you want to achieve, what you want to be remembered for...sometimes you just have to feed your soul.

"What are you talking about" you blurt as you simultaneously remind me how rubbish your job is, how unfulfilling your role is, how your boss has no morals, how unmotivated you are and how far you are from the dreams and ideals you once had. "Is this some more of your hippy mumbo jumbo?"

Sometimes you have to Feed Your Soul...

You want me to "stop with the tree hugging inner peace rubbish", You don't have the time, the money, the opportunity. There is real stuff to be getting on with, you know, real decisions to make, real people to see and real places to go. You have a mortgage to pay, mouths to feed, a treadmill to step back on and a rat race to win...no time for this soul feeding.

You have to Feed your Soul...

But its still hurting, I can see your pain, confusing and clouding your days, troubling, worrying, causing you stress. You are in conflict, in turmoil, beginning to feel lost at sea, only treading water, the waves beginning to take their toll, another purposeless demand crashes over your head, making you splutter and choke. But you still don’t look inside properly, to see what is really there, to find a direction, which way to swim, to seek the place where the the swimming will feel easier and where the lifebelt will be.

Feed your Soul

So I share with you, how I see you and some things I have seen, I’ve seen what happens when you find those helpful currents, when you are swimming with the tide, when you are flowing with the river. Every stroke taking you further and faster than you can imagined possible, effortless. I’ve seen the power of knowing why you are here, what you are great at and knowing your purpose.

I’ve seen the head teacher who truly believes every child has potential, who has the vision and aspiration for each and every kid to achieve wonderful things. Who ploughs endless energy and enthusiasm into making this happen because they know this is what they are here for. I have seen the Treasurer of a Credit Union who knows the impact that they can make to the poorest and most disadvantaged in their communities and believes wholeheartedly that this is what they are here to do, working tirelessly to make it happen.
And most of all I have seen countless staff in the NHS who know they are on this earth to care, who find endless ways to make a difference to peoples lives because that is what is truly important to them.

When you feed your soul

So call it tree hugging or mumbo jumbo if you want, try and brush it aside if you must, I will just keep asking the questions because this curiosity is what I am here for. This exploration is what nourishes me. This shared journey will feed my soul.

So I will keep on asking you "What are you here for?" "What will nourish you?" "What is your purpose?" and "What will feed your soul?"